The Write Thing

As I sit on my bed this Tuesday evening, I can only describe the feeling I have right now in one way: contented.  Which seems bizarre to me, and probably to you too if you read my last blog post, I Survived the Weekend…and Lived to Blog About It.  I’ve just re-read every blog I’ve written since I started writing again last month, and I realise how much I’ve missed it.  

The actual act of writing not only makes me feel better, but checking my stats several times a day also makes me happy.  WordPress stats tell me how many people have visited the blog on a daily basis and how many times they have viewed it, which countries visitors are from and the number of views each individual post has received.  While my views are relatively low compared to other blogs, I get such a warm feeling inside to know that people are reading what I’m writing.  And not just reading it, but sharing it via social media to other potential readers.  

After the distress and disappointment of the weekend, I feel calm and…strangely enough, ok.  Work has been without issue so far this week, I am feeling positive because have applied for three jobs, and tonight I went to my book club where we discussed two short stories that I suggested, some 19th century women’s literature that I read at uni and loved.  But most importantly I am blogging again, and people are reading again.  Right now, in this moment, I am content.  

And you know what, I’ve actually had this feeling since Monday morning.  My friend at work read my last blog and asked me if I was ok; she must have been expecting me to burst into tears but I didn’t, and that I put down to having written about it.  I actually felt bad when my boss asked me how my weekend was, and I answered “not great”, because I was feeling ok when I answered her.  But I didn’t feel I could lie to her and tell her I had a good weekend an hour after posting a blog about suicide.  

I’m feeling like I’m waffling now, and I want to post this before I start to regret writing it, and that is totally not what I wanted to happen!   I guess what I’m trying to say, is that I know for sure this blog is the right thing for me to be doing.  And as long as you keep reading, I’ll keep writing.  

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tamingmyblackdog
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 17:28:02

    Well I’ll certainly keep reading!

    Reply

  2. Hyperion
    Sep 21, 2015 @ 21:59:54

    Writing is the best and cheapest therapy there is 🙂 If something isn’t going right, I have the power to change it or delete it and use my best evil minion laugh. I always get my way although my muse does attempt to interfere with that at times. Keep writing and smile when you know you shouldn’t.

    Reply

  3. milliethom
    Sep 22, 2015 @ 14:26:52

    WordPress is a great place to be to make you feel better and lift your spirits. There are lots of nice people out there happy to read what you say, and offer advice or just share their own experiences. It seems you’re on the up at the moment – good for you. 🙂
    You may have noticed, I’m playing ‘catch up’ today. I’ve just got back from Malta and am behind with so many posts. Keep blogging! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

