Not What I Wanted To Say (But That’s Ok)

I must be getting better.  Five minutes ago I reached for my phone; reached for my blog through my phone.  Felt the need to vent exactly what I was feeling through the short burst of tears.  

But you know what?  I hesitated.  I don’t know why.  Here I am, five minutes later; the destination is the same, but I’m here to tell you what I did today, instead of what I felt.  

That is not to say that what I feel is not important, because of course it is.  But I feel myself reaching for those particular feelings like a comfort blanket.  One that I can pull over my head and encapsulate myself in, until the feeling goes away and I can face the world again.  

Instead, let me tell you some positives about my day, not negatives that don’t really matter.  

I wrote a short story on the way to work.  It’s very short indeed, and incomplete, but hey, it’s a story, and it’s short.  And it’s the second short story I’ve written, while commuting, in less than a week.  

I went to my book club tonight.  I finally made small steps towards meeting new people in this great city.  I’ve been going to this group for four and a half months, and it’s getting me meeting new people and reading books (and books that are not necessarily ones that I would have chosen).  More importantly, it’s getting me thinking about books.  Thinking the way I used to when i was at uni.  And thinking this way gets me inspired.  

I feel like there should be a third thing.  And there is.  This blog.  The fact that I’m reaching for WordPress, not the tissues (and really the tears were barely enough to warrant a Kleenex) is a sign that I have the right outlet for those times when things go awry.  That in itself makes me happy, although the tissue makers might not be so thrilled…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. milliethom
    Sep 05, 2015 @ 19:44:53

    A lovely, positive post! Good for you – a sure sign you’re getting better. The book club sounds excellent for meeting people, and very importantly, for talking and discussing. Keep p the story writing, too. Why don’t you try some of the writing challenges on WP? Flash fiction is fun to do.

    Reply

    • 33andlostinlife
      Sep 05, 2015 @ 20:23:56

      I might try some of the writing challenges. I wrote another short story today and definitely feeling inspired!

      Reply

      • milliethom
        Sep 05, 2015 @ 20:33:49

        The FF challenges mostly ask for very short stories. The Friday Fictioneers has a word limit of 100 – quite a challenge. Others are a bit longer – 150 0r 175. I think the Sunday Photo Fiction is 200 words. That allows for a decent story. Have a look at a few and see what you think.

      • 33andlostinlife
        Sep 05, 2015 @ 20:53:08

        I will! Thanks Millie

      • milliethom
        Sep 05, 2015 @ 20:59:19

        I do Priceless Joy’s one, which runs from Tuesday-Tuesday. I used to do several, but dropped the rest so I could spend time on my own writing. Joy’s allows up to 175 words, which is quite good. It’s called:Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers. Joy asked me to join this one, so I could give advice on grammar and puctuation, if needed. There are some good writers who do the challenge, too. Not all are beginners. Enjoy the rest of Saturday evening… talk again soon 🙂

      • 33andlostinlife
        Sep 05, 2015 @ 21:27:11

        You too!

Leave a Reply

