Gone Goal

On Saturday night I finally had the pleasure of seeing Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl at the cinema. As much as I love going to the movies, visits to the big screen have been few and far between since I moved to the big city, but Gone Girl was one of those few films I was desperate to see before it disappeared into that black hole between the big screen and my DVD collection.

Having read the book last year, I knew the storyline. After seeing the film adaptation, the screenplay having been written by Flynn herself, I was not disappointed. Gone Girl is still one of the most amazingly clever novels I have read and if I could write something half as good as that I would be happy. What am I saying? If I could write something half as long as that I would be grateful.

Since I did my first piece of “creative” writing in 2011, I have struggled to write any fiction with the exception of the odd fairy tale. They say everyone has a book in them, and while I have ideas, I have failed to write more than about two pages before giving up. Every so often I give it a go but the truth is, I just don’t feel comfortable with writing fiction as I do with writing about real life in my blogs. They (whoever “they” are) say you should write about what you know, and at this point in my life, while my sense of direction is skewed and I may not be able to make sense of my thoughts and feelings, I do at least know I am having them. With the help of some popular culture, I can usually successfully transfer them onto the virtual page and into reader’s minds.

One thing I take from Gillian Flynn is that she published her first novel at the age of 35. Author Jodi Picoult published her first novel at the age of 37, and crime writer Raymond Chandler published his first story at the age of 45. Perhaps the best-known contemporary novelist of our time, J.K. Rowling published the first Harry Potter book at the age of 32. Proving that novel writing is not the monopoly of the teens or twenty-somethings, some of the best come from those with more life experience.

So for now, while writing a book seems like a gone goal for me, I take inspiration from writers like Gillian Flynn, and hope that one day I will be able to craft characters who are as deliciously complex as Amy Dunne and her husband, Nick.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mincs1
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 02:46:35

    I am reading Gone Girl right now; well, not exactly at this minute but you know what I mean. I look forward to seeing the movie version also. Great post!
    I read a quote today that said, “There will never be a perfect time. Just start where you are.” Best to you! Mary šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Anna
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 07:17:23

    Get writing!! Why not write something wonderfully postmodern and a combination of fiction and real life. You are too god at this not to indulge xxx

    Reply

    • 33andlostinlife
      Oct 27, 2014 @ 07:47:38

      Thanks Anna. All the fiction I’ve written so far has been pretty autobiographical (I’m sure nobody could tell though) so I could expand on that. It’s just a case of stepping over that fear into the unknown…

      Reply

  3. Jack
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 21:31:18

    As a lover of literature you may enjoy joining the Slow Reading Club. Its about taking proper time out for reading, to truly loose yourself in a book and get as much enjoyment possible from it rather than race through them the way people do with their busy lives. Just a suggestion for you to look into; I think you may get alot from something like that. It’s based in Nottinghill.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

