The Musical Memory Tour

I’ve posted before about how when I wake up with a song in my head, I have to listen to it. Not that I think there’s some kind of coded message in there. Ok, maybe I do.

Today’s song was Let’s Get Rocked, courtesy of the UK long-haired rockers, Def Leppard. Ey up, in fact they’re from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, an hour away from my home city of Lincoln and close to where my mum lives now.

Anyway, I listened to the song on YouTube, remembering the video with the computer-generated teenager with a cap. Not bad for the early 90s.

I then remembered another song that randomly appeared in my head this morning: Fallen, by Lauren Wood. Most people will be saying who? What? Where in fact most women at least will know the song as part of the Pretty Woman soundtrack, the scene where Edward collects Vivian for their big night out to the opera in San Francisco. I once bought the Pretty Woman soundtrack on cassette from a car boot sale. It didn’t have a case and cost me 50p. I was about 13 at the time, and it was one of the best things I ever bought.

IMG_1458.JPG

So I listened to Fallen on YouTube. By then, I was hungry for more 90s music, and checked out YouTube’s suggestions below, where I found Extreme’s More Than Words. From the days when all long-haired rock bands needed to do to hit the charts was to release a ballad unlike anything else they’d ever done, of course I end up at my favourite band, the one that will always have a special place in my heart. Mr. Big, To Be With You, a one-hit wonder to most people but a long story of love for me. Listening to this song reminds me of meeting their lead singer, Eric Martin, during one of his solo gigs in Italy. I’ve blogged about this before, and if you’d like to read the story, you can search my blog for it. I remember how my ex-husband, who at the time had been my ex-husband for only two months, accused me of sleeping with Eric, since we happened to be staying at the same hotel. But Eric was the perfect gentleman, with only wise words of wisdom for me, his own heart given to his wife, drummer Denise and twin boys. But I wasn’t there that night looking for a shag. I was searching for myself, that poor girl that was lost long before 33andlostinlife came along. That trip led to me being stranded in Venice after the ash cloud hit, and ensued a lengthy and expensive adventure across Europe to get home. What came with it was proof that I could travel alone, and a sign that I already had some of that independence I was searching for.

My Mr. Big story starts much like with Lauren Wood, with a cassette tape which I borrowed from my best friend at the time, only to discover to my horror that my ghetto blaster had chewed it up. Mortified much like Doc Brown when he realises the cable has come loose underneath the fallen tree and the lightening is about to strike, I bought my friend a new tape, and kept the chewed one, which played fine after that. I still have it, as a reminder that not everything that appears broken is ready for the rubbish dump.

IMG_1459.JPG

The 90s were a tough time for me, but I have fond memories of them, mainly due to the pop culture I associate with so well.

Yesterday a former classmate announced another reunion of the class of ’94. I won’t be going to this one. The first one, back in 2010, was more than enough for me.

So 90s, you can keep your school memories, and I’ll keep the wonderful catalogue of music that reminds me best of my youth. And when they suddenly appear in my head and take me on a magical musical tour of nostalgia, I’ll enjoy the journey, and hope you do too.

Let’s Get Rocked – Def Leppard (1992)

Fallen – Lauren Wood (Pretty Woman OST 1990)

More Than Words – Extreme (1991)

To Be With You – Mr. Big (1991)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 4entertainmentpurposesonly
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 00:00:37

    Double love- pretty woman and mr. Big!! Both Hugely significant to my youth as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

