The Twelve-Week Challenge: Days 5 and 4

So you may be wondering what happened to the blog last night.  Well, in my defence, I did start it, but I didn’t have time to finish it.  I was writing about how much my life has changed in the last couple of years, and how much my life will change in the next week.

My friend Jamie arrived from LA last night.  I met him in 2011 through Couchsurfing, which is a website which puts travelers in touch with people who are willing to host them.  I stayed in LA for a week after finishing my Study Abroad period in Pennsylvania, and after that  we became firm friends.  I stayed with him for another two weeks in November 2011 and finally he’s come to visit me in sleepy old Lincoln.

I have a lot of international friends who I have met through studying abroad and travelling, and I never would have had them in my life had I not gone to university.  If you had asked me four years ago if I would be having a friend from LA over for a few days, or staying in Santa Monica a couple of times a year, I would have been happy to dream it but never would have thought it would happen.

Having international friends is a great cultural asset to your life.  You can share stories, culture, food, friends.  Even amongst English-speaking countries it’s amazing how different they can be.

I’m so close to the end of this challenge now, and some may be disappointed by the fact that I missed a blog, or tacked two together like I have done here.  But it’s more important to enjoy life and have fun, than have rigid structures which say you must do this or you must do that.  I may not have the best self-discipline in the world, but I know my reasons for not blogging have been due to spending valuable time with a friend, and not just because I couldn’t be bothered.

Tomorrow I will be moving the first load of my stuff to my new flat in London.  This is the beginning of a huge change, and is the first steps towards the new life I have been seeking for so long.  But I am the person I am now because of the people I have met along the way.

Leave a Reply

