The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 25

You should probably be aware (and impressed) that this is the second blog I’ve written today.  If you didn’t see Jogga-Blog No 3, then you can read it here https://33andlostinlife.wordpress.com/2013/04/14/jogga-blog-no-3/.

After my jog, I went supermarket shopping with my housemate, stopping off at the hand car wash on the way to clean the car, got home, chatted with another visiting friend and housemates, went in the garden, mowed the lawn, did some gardening and even hoovered downstairs!  I don’t know what’s come over me today.  Maybe it has something to do with that warm, gorgeous sunshine!  Anyway, today I was determined to do lots, and while it’s left me aching in places I didn’t even know I had places, I feel happy that I’ve achieved several things today.

The weekend has gone pretty quickly, and I’m quite excited for Monday’s arrival.  While Monday used to be a day of torture; the return to work after the too-quick weekend, I now can’t wait for Monday, so I hopefully will have news of…a job, that will put an end to my seven-day weekend, and leave me hating Mondays again.  Ok, so maybe I haven’t thought this through…

Anyway, I think 2013 is finally the year I acknowledged that I like gardening.  Since I was 21 I’ve lived independently from my parents (except for the few weeks after I returned from studying abroad, which saw me back at my dad’s…thanks Pops!) and each house I’ve either owned or rented since then has had a garden.  While I’ve begrudgingly gone out to do gardening in the past when the garden starts looking like a jungle, today I was desperate to get out into the greenery and the warmth of the sunshine.  And you know what, I enjoyed it.  I do come from a line of green-fingered sun-worshipers, so it’s hardly surprising.  I guess I’m just surprised that it took me this long to realise that gardening gives me an opportunity to be out in this country’s sometimes (often) evasive sunshine.  Today was really warm, and actually would have been warm enough for sunbathing, but I was determined to get at least some of the garden done.  There’s less than half to go now, so it shouldn’t be too long before I can sunbathe in peace, and enjoy my days before I get sucked back into the working world I suddenly seem to desperate to be part of again.

 

Leave a Reply

