The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 30

Although today has been a busy day, it hasn’t been overly productive with regards to uni work or job hunting.  I spoke to various people today about my move down to London, and friends have expressed concern about how quickly I will get temporary work there and whether I can afford to move without a job.  The answer is I don’t know.  Tomorrow on my list is to contact some of the recruitment companies I have now sent my CV to, and ask them these exact questions.

While today has thrown up more questions in regards to the practical side of moving to the Big Smoke, I am still excited about the move.  I’ve had itchy feet for a long time, and I always enjoy the search for a new place to live and actually moving my stuff in (not so much packing it at the old house!).

I met with my Study Coach today, and she has advised me to treat each day like a 9-5 job.  So I’ve set tomorrow’s alarm for 8am, and I’ll probably get up around 8:30am, with a plan to start work at 9am.  This is probably sensible, since I’m sure that I need to be eased back into working life, having lived the student lifestyle for too long.  But I enjoy having my days free, and I shall miss that.  I remember all those years I worked full time, living for the weekend.  Right now, for me, every day is like a weekend.  But I guess it’s time to go back into the real world, where I can only hope to find a good work-life balance.  One thing I will look forward to though, is the paycheck at the end of every month.

Leave a Reply

