The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 32

Day 32 has been focussed on job-hunting.  After spending a week in London but not having had much success in my job search, I decided I should get onto my long-lost laptop and find that job.

Today I’ve applied for three permanent jobs and uploaded my CV to several temp agencies.  I’ve emailed a few of them asking for advice on my situation.  Will I need to move to London before I can get a temp job (if nothing permanent comes up)?  What are the chances of my getting a job in the publishing or media industries?

Receiving the final instalment of my student loan today has made it real that I have a certain amount of money to a) live on b) pay rent and bills here c) pay the first month’s rent/bills and deposit in London.  As well as pay off that bloody water bill.  The reality is that if I fail to secure work in London, I will have to temp here in Lincoln.  The thought of that sends shivers down my spine, and has been instrumental in encouraging my job-hunting today.

As well as the jobs I applied for, I’ve also researched many other jobs, which are on my To-Do list for tomorrow.  But since it’s now 12:30am, I need to sleep, because at 8:30am I’m off to pick The Bish up from the cattery, where he’s been on holiday while I’ve been away.  I’m sure he’ll be mardy with me for a while, but after that I should expect to have him sitting on my laptop while I attempt to apply for jobs, making sure I know that he’s coming with me to the big smoke.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tehkelsey
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 03:41:56

    Good luck! You should look into Oxford publishers as well. They are more academic than London but there are lots of them. And Atwood Tate is a good recruiting agency for publishing.

    Reply

    • 33andlostinlife
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 06:39:26

      I spoke to Atwood Tate but they wouldn’t help me without having any publishing experience. She asked me if I was doing an MA in Publishing! Shame you aren’t still here!! I would rather be in London but I’ll have a look at the Oxford Publishers too.

      Reply

  2. philip469
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 19:32:12

    keep at it and motivate yourself , I wanna hear your success story later cause you sounds like a hard working person and they always succeed.

    Reply

    • 33andlostinlife
      Apr 12, 2013 @ 22:44:51

      Thanks Phil, it’s been hard to get motivated at times, but I’m so close to living the dream now, that alone is going to motivate me to get there. I WILL be writing my success story on here believe me.

      Reply

      • philip469
        Apr 12, 2013 @ 23:01:46

        ever think you could make money online blogging I am currently and looking for others who are interested.If not i’m willing to pay you to get me traffic to my blog

Leave a Reply

