The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 35

Well here I am, late again.  Lack of Internet access prevented my blog last night, but that’s just an excuse.  Really, I should have made sure it was done, no matter what.  Maybe that’s something I need to learn in the next 35 days, as well as the ability to count properly, and check my posts.  I’ve had two Day 37s, and that doesn’t count the one I did before I started counting backwards on this challenge.

Yesterday I realised there are lots of things I need to change about my life if I want to be successful, and more importantly, if I want to be healthy.  My health and well-being has not been at the top of my To-Do list.  In the last two years, I’ve put on a stone and a half (at least) and last night, as I tried to zip up my coat against the freezing cold London night, it was a struggle.  In fact, I’m surprised it didn’t pop open, exposing my belly to the tourists in Picadilly, who I’m sure haven’t travelled all this way just for that.

Last night I met a friend, who has been pursuing a much healthier lifestyle since the last time I saw him towards the end of last year.  When I say much healthier, I mean compared to me, because I’m pretty sure even before he went on this major health kick, he was much healthier than me to start with.  As well as exercise, he’s cut out eating cakes, sweets, chocolates and crisps, replacing them with fruit smoothies.  He looks really well and has more colour since I saw him before.  Perhaps something else that has changed him is where before he was quite stressed with work, he now volunteers at a hospital once a week, helping patients with their shopping, giving them someone to talk to, and other things that make their stay in hospital a bit more bearable.

It’s ironic, because when I first saw this guy, at the National Achievers’ Congress last October, I, along with several other thousand people, were under the impression that he was a millionaire businessman.  Having met him, I was soon put right on that score.  As I’ve gotten to know him, I realise that he too, is trying to find his place in life.  While he has a successful career, what he really wants to do is to help people, the kinds of hands-on volunteering that he’s doing at the hospital.

He is so passionate about changing his life, and his healthy lifestyle has given him such boundless energy, that I’m feeling empowered to follow his example.  I could certainly benefit by eating healthily, finally culling my Diet Coke addiction, and getting more exercise.  Both my body, as well as my mind, could do with a good detox, and I feel like now, where I’m between two chapters in my life, is the time to transition myself.

The English folk tale, Dick Whittington, tells of a young orphan boy who travels to London, having heard that the streets were paved with gold.  Upon arrival, soon realises they are in fact not paved with gold.  He is taken in by a wealthy merchant, and given a job as a scullery boy, although his room was infested by rats.  He earned money shining shoes and bought a cat, which soon took care of the rats.

One day, his merchant boss insists that all his servants send a something on his ship to trade for gold, and reluctantly, Dick sends his cat.  Although the merchant was kind to Dick, his nasty cook was not, and eventually Dick ran away.  Before he could reach the city limits, he hears the sound of the Bow Bells, which seemed to be telling him to return, that one day he would become Lord Mayor.  Dick, a strong believer in fate and signs, much like myself, turned around and headed back to his employer’s house.

Upon his return, he found that the merchant’s ship was back.  The ship had visited the King of Barbary, whose palace was overrun with mice.  Dick’s cat had been hailed a hero for ridding the palace of the vermin, and the King had paid a substantial amount of gold for the little kitty.  Dick became a rich man, and in the second most premonitory fictional mayoral inception (second only to Back to the Future’s Goldie Wilson), soon became Lord Mayor of London.

While I have no intention of selling The Bish to a king (unless his mice-catching skills prove to be that good), I do hope that I can seek fame and fortune in this big city, and I think, as this tale proves, you must never give up.

Leave a Reply

