The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 37

Firstly, I’m going to apologise for the lateness of this blog, which was not done yesterday.  I’m now in London, and met with a friend who is now living here.  As someone who is now living a working here, and was a mature student himself, it was good to have a tour of his workplace: the BBC studios.  Although it’s taken him time since he graduated from university with a first-class honours in Film and Media Production, he’s now working in the industry that he was aiming for when he started at university back in 2005.  While he’s still a long way from his dream of directing films, he is at least on the pathway towards that dream, and I wish him all the best with that.

We caught up over a few drinks last night.  I started on the Malibu and coke and finished on Peroni; he started on the beer and finished on the beer. He did treat me to a Bloodshot in Garlic and Shots, a Soho bar that supplied the down-in-oner that contained garlic, tomato juice, vodka and chilli.  Although I thought I might balk at it, it actually tasted quite good for the split second it slid down my throat.  It was warming on a cold night, and since we hadn’t eaten yet, I could at least fool my body into thinking that I’d eaten some kind of meal, rather than drinking on an empty stomach.

I did some research yesterday into jobs here in London.  I’m hoping that I’m going to be able to find at least a temp job fairly quickly, although my friend reminded me of the realities of the current job market, and warned that I may struggle to find something.  I still need to speak with some temp agencies to discuss my situation with the people who work in recruitment, but I hope that there won’t be too much of a delay.  I really hope I’ll be able to find a job I’m happy to do sooner, although I guess I have to accept the fact that it may take time to find that, or even to find my way on the path to it.

Since my plan is to become a writer, and really I am just looking at a day job until I can be a paid writer.  I’ll keep on writing this blog, as a record of the tough times, and the good times, because yes, there are some.  Occasionally it will be late, like today; I had intended to write the blog last night, but after a more than a few drinks by that point I fell asleep.  This morning I had no internet access until now, so now is when I’m posting it.  I’m not going to apologise for it being late.  This is me, I’m not always perfect in what I do.  Sometimes life gets in the way of what you want to do.  But the important thing is to carry on, doing what you do, and hope that in future, technology, or other obstacles, will allow you to do what it is you want to do.

Leave a Reply

