The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 42

Today, to all intents and purposes, I did my best to both apply for jobs and work on assignments.  But I guess it was one of those days where it wasn’t going to happen.

On the train to visit my mum, I read The Cambridge Companion to Crime Fiction, as part of my project on Janet Evanovich’s series on female bounty hunter, Stephanie Plum.  When I got on the train, I sat at a table, where it looked like I was going to be the only one sat there.  I started to spread my stuff out a little bit.  Then a group of people got on, three men sat at my table, and their two lady friends at the table opposite.  From their conversation, they were going on holiday, and were in a very holiday-y mood.  Which was nice for them.  Not so nice for me, who was trying to work in the tiny space I had.  They were laughing and joking, which was fine, but it didn’t leave me wanting to look all swotty on the train.  Even after they got off at the first big stop, another mother and daughter got on and sat opposite me on the table, and I decided there wasn’t much point in doing anything in the half hour I had left until I had to change trains.

Tonight I decided to have a search online for some jobs, and I found one I like the look of.  It’s only part-time, but the money’s good, and could leave me with time do writing or another job of some sort.  I decided tomorrow would be a good time to do my application, since I’d had a glass of wine with dinner, and was just finishing a Tia Maria with lemonade., is enough.

I kind of feel like I don’t really know what to write in today’s blog.  Maybe I’m winding down for the Easter weekend, or maybe I just haven’t done anything particularly worthwhile today.  But it’s good not to be feeling down.  To be looking to the future, with positivity, is enough.

 

 

Leave a Reply

