The Twelve-Week Blog: Belated Day 44

Well this blog is almost 24 hours late but you know what? I really don’t care. And you know why? Because I handed my dissertation in today hoooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrraaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!

Admittedly, yesterday was a pretty bad day.  I was still feeling down after having to cancel my flight to China, and yet couldn’t face doing anything on my dissertation.  I felt a bit better after a couple of episodes of The Big Bang Theory, but my mood didn’t lift all day.  After dinner I once more sat down to try and do some work on my dissertation, but it just wasn’t happening.  I finally went to bed about midnight, reluctantly switching off my blog reminder.  If I couldn’t do my dissertation, then I couldn’t do my blog.

I set my alarm for 6:15am knowing that it would be my last opportunity to get my dissertation done.  I woke up, really not feeling any better and certainly not wanting to face the day.  After two hours of snoozing my alarm, I finally decided, at 8am that I should get out of bed.  It was do or die for my dissertation.  It would get handed in today, ready or not.  There would be no extension.  So I got up out of bed, and flung open the curtains.

My heart melted at the sight of the sunshine and blue sky.  Moving into the kitchen, the sun was streaming through the window.  I sat down at the table with my laptop, soaking up the fuel that makes me so much happier.  And I worked like a trooper until my dissertation was finished, and I handed it in, with over an hour to go until the deadline.

Don’t get me wrong, I am happy to have my dissertation finally handed in.  But it’s kind of an anti-climax, knowing that I still have four assignments to do before I can finally consider my university career done and dusted. I would have liked for my dissertation to have been the final step.

Anyway, for now, I’m done.  This evening I have enjoyed relaxing and not having to worry about anything.  In the next day or two, I’ll make a start on my next essay, and remember how good it felt to have something handed in on time, and use that as inspiration to get it done quick.

Leave a Reply

