The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 40

With two days to go until my dissertation is due in, I’m feeling quite calm.  Whether that’s because I’m full of cold and I’m not feeling well enough to go into meltdown mode, I’m not sure, but as it is, I’m doing ok.

I know this blog is going to be short and sweet, but you’ll have to forgive me for that.  I’m tired, still catching up after my crap night’s sleep on Monday night, and as a result I do keep swerving between wanting to fall asleep in front of my laptop and typing like a maniac to get my dissertation finished.

What’s annoying, is that my dissertation, or Independent Study, is only worth 30 credits, the same as the other three modules I’m taking.  While my dissertation is 10,000 words, my other assignments are around 2,500 words each, for these final term projects.  Why the dissertation is held up as the holy grail I do not know, but for some reason so much more importance is placed upon this piece of work.

While I will be glad to see the back of my dissertation, I have enjoyed working on it these last few days.  Sadly, it’s not enough to make me want to pursue further study at any point in the very near future, but I think women’s studies is something I will continue to have an interest in.  I’m pretty sure at the very least this blog will include a study of this particular woman, and her journey out into the big wide world.

Wishing I’d bought it, rather than just taking a picture of it…

On the job front, I was disappointed today to receive an email from a publishing company in London, telling me I hadn’t been shortlisted for a job I’d applied for.  It was a shame, because it was in the area of London I used to work in years ago, and I would have liked to have gone back there.  I will always remember seeing a plaque on the side of a building saying that Virginia Woolf lived there.  At the time, I knew she was some great woman but I was too naïve to know who she was or why it was so important that she lived there.  The fact that I’m now quoting Virginia Woolf in my dissertation shows how far I’ve come since those days, although on my days off I used to scour the streets for bookshops, and 16 years later, that hasn’t changed.  In fact, here’s a picture of me, in Los Angeles in 2011, at the LA Art Walk, where I found a second-hand copy of Virginia Woolf’s To The Lighthouse.  For some bizarre reason, I didn’t buy it back then, but I might just treat myself once my dissertation is done.

Ironically, I had a voicemail today from a recruitment consultant here in Lincoln.  His message said he had seen my CV online and had a very exciting position to talk to me about!  Isn’t that typical?  The one place I don’t want a job and it’s the first phone call I get.  Out of curiosity, I shall see what he’s offering when/if he calls me back tomorrow, although I’ve had my heart set on moving away for such a long time, it would have to be something pretty spectacular to get me to stay.

 

 

Leave a Reply

