The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 36

With a week until the deadline for my dissertation, I’m currently working on it now, although I figured I should get this blog written as I’m getting tired and don’t want to miss it should I suddenly decide I’m too tired to work and want to go to bed.  Also my Have You Blogged Today??!! reminder has been going off for the last hour and it’s starting to do my head in.

I’m still working on the Harvesting the Heart chapter.  Because it’s been so long since I read the book, I’ve been flicking back and forth trying to find suitable quotes to use, which has taken me a while.  I’m still not sure I’ve got everything I need, but really I need to start pulling everything I’ve got together now or I’m going to go over my word count, and that will make editing even harder than it should be.

Slowly I do feel like my dissertation is coming together, although I’m worried that I may fall into mad panic mode at any moment.  Probably not for another few days, but sooner or later I’m bound to get to a point when I realise I can’t do what is needed in the short time scale I have left.  Tomorrow is going to need some serious work if I want to avoid major meltdown.

Apart from that, I Skyped with some friends today, who I studied and travelled with when I was in the US.  As I remembered the good times we had, it made me want to make that decision to go to the States for the summer.  But I realise that I am not in the position to be able to make that decision yet.  As much as I’d like to, I can’t make any decision until I am finished with my uni work.  This is probably a good thing, because as much as I feel like I could just go to America for the summer, I’m also excited at the prospect of moving back to London, finding a new job, a new place to live, and planting the roots for the next stage of my life.  I’m sure that whatever I decide to do will be fun, and an adventure.  As long as things go to plan, and I am disciplined enough to get myself through these next seven weeks, then all my work will be in, and that freedom I have been chasing for so long will be mine to do with as I please.

Somebody made a comment on my blog earlier, suggesting that I should add some photos or videos to it.  The comment was filtered straight into the ‘Spam’ folder, which I always check just in case anything slips through.  I think the comment was genuine though; it seemed to be.  Anyway, this has given me something to think about.  I’ve posted the odd picture in my blogs, most recently the ones of me and my idol, Eric Martin, which you can see here https://33andlostinlife.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/the-twelve-week-challenge-day-25/.  I’m guessing people would like to see more pictures, and it would break up some of the wordage.  I can’t promise too much during the next week of this challenge, but I will see what I can do.  I’m still relatively new to blogging, so any feedback or comments are always welcomed.

 

Leave a Reply

