The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 35

After the last few days where I feel like I’ve actually worked quite hard, today turned out to be a non-working day.  Even with my early night last night, I didn’t wake up until 11:30am, and I had time for brunch before heading to uni for an appointment with my counsellor.  After that I came home, Skyped with my friend, Mark, in South Carolina, prepared a joint of pork for cooking, and watched my friend and radio co-host, Jack, win at the BBC TV show, Pointless.  The remainder of the roast dinner took around two hours of preparation, and although it was looking like everything either wasn’t going to cook right, or wasn’t going to be ready together, the end result was pretty good, and the nine of us that were eating all agreed that it was a good meal.

I’d love to proclaim that I am some sort of domestic goddess, but sadly, that is not the case.  That is probably the first roast dinner I’ve taken the lead on, and I was actually quite surprised at how much I looked like I knew what I was doing!  I’ve never really been a fan of roast dinners, and it’s only in recent years have I actually learned to appreciate them.  Personally I hate cooking them because they take so long to prepare and use so many pots and pans, but today was a special occasion of cooking for 8 Chinese people plus myself, so I agreed to it.  Although my naiveté was probably what caused me no concern about cooking for 9 people, until the time we got the pork out of the fridge and the realisation set in.

Despite being a Cancerian, I am no domestic homebody.  I really can only cook a handful of meals, and even those come out of a jar.  I hate cleaning and tidying up, gardening (although every year I become a bit more accepting of having to do it, mainly because it gives me the excuse to be out in the sunshine)…I don’t mind washing clothes, but I hate ironing, and in fact don’t remember the last time I ironed anything.  If it needs ironing, I probably won’t wear it.

Anyway, I’m not really sure where I’m going with this, except to say that it’s a good job women are no longer confined to the home and domestic roles, because I’d be pretty screwed.

So it’s now a quarter to ten, and I’m tired and have a full belly.  There’s no point in starting any work now, so I think I’ll get an early night and then start again tomorrow.  I’ve had a bit of a headache on and off today, in fact this morning it felt like someone had stabbed me in the back of the head.  I recognise this as a tired headache, the kind you get when you are just too tired.  Probably the fact I’ve had quite a few nights this last week where my sleep has been interrupted, mainly because I have fallen to sleep without writing my blog, and have kept waking up with the lamp on, trying to decide whether to write it at whatever ridiculous time it is, usually deciding to just close my eyes and go back to sleep.  I’ve set my alarm early, and will pick up the dissertation again tomorrow.  But for now, time to relax.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rob
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 23:11:13

    I like a good roast and that one sounded yummy. I don’t cook very much either, but I’m going to start doing more of it I think. Rumor has it that women like a guy who can cook and I figure I need any advantage I can get.

    Also, congratulations on Day 35. You’re doing great! You should be proud of yourself.

    Reply

    • 33andlostinlife
      Mar 16, 2013 @ 10:40:10

      Well, Rob, I’ve met quite a few guys who can cook and it’s always a bonus (especially when I can’t!), so I’m sure it won’t hurt to get some cook books out and practice! Having said that, you should be yourself when dating and if the other person doesn’t like that then tough.

      I’m proud of myself for getting this far too, and I hope you’ll be along for the rest of the ride!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

