The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 34

I thought I would get this blog post done well in time, as I don’t want to have egg on my face for the third day in a row, by having it be late yet again.  Luckily, I have more positive activity to report, and on top of that, I’ve also done housework today (I seriously contemplated entitling this post “Jodie Orton in Hoovering Shocker!”).

If you read Day 33 https://33andlostinlife.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/the-twelve-week-challenge-day-33/, then you’ll know that I was working on my dissertation today.  I decided to concentrate specifically on the third chapter, which is about Harvesting the Heart by Jodi Picoult.  While thumbing through the book for inspiration, I ended up reading through the last 200 pages, and making three pages of quotes, which was roughly 1500 words.  Although I won’t use all of them, it was worth doing, because I really I haven’t read the book since I started my dissertation more than 18 months ago.

I have started going through the chapter and working out where I can put the quotes in, and that will be my next job, probably in the morning.  Right now I don’t feel the pressure’s on so much that I need to work into the night.  I guess that will probably change by next week though.

Aside from that, I haven’t applied for any jobs today.  I have kind of shelved that, for now, while I finish my dissertation.  I figure there is always going to be places to go whether I have a job or not, but for now I best actually get myself to the point where I have that choice!  I did receive a reply from a publishing company with whom I applied for a job in Dubai; although they told me I hadn’t been shortlisted, they would keep my details and let me know if anything suitable came up.  I’m sure they say that to all the girls, but for today, at least, I feel special.

Well I promised you news of housework, and here it is.  Recently our vacuum cleaner broke, and tonight while doing our food shop we picked a new one up.  Unfortunately, Matt Damon recently moved in, and he makes such a mess!  Sadly, I’m not talking about THE Matt Damon, more about a guinea pig named by my Chinese housemate, Ruby.  Well he’s still alive, not having been eaten by The Bish yet, in fact I think they are friends.  The only problem is that Matt has a tendency to chuck sawdust out of his cage in the kitchen, and it gets trodden through the house.  As someone who firmly believes my fridge magnet which reads “There’s more to life than housework”, I have somewhat surprisingly been desperate to hoover up.  Tonight, after our return from the supermarket, I got my opportunity.  And although I feel better, I’m not quite sure what all the excitement was about.  I realise I’m not making a good advertisement for myself as a Domestic Goddess, but, well, that was never going to happen anyway, because quite frankly, there is more to life than housework.

So that’s pretty much all I have to say for today.  But I will be back again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

