The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 30

Today I have been reminded that no matter how well you plan for things, the unexpected can happen, and you may be forced to reassess your plan of action.

Basically, I was due to travel back to Lincoln on the train tonight. I had spent the day catching up with relatives which was lovely, but when we drove back, we underestimated the time it would take to get to the station. I say we as in the “Royal we”; my cousin’s fiancé, Simon, felt awful but I refuse to let him take the blame for it. I’ve missed enough trains in my life; one more won’t make a difference.

I arrived at the platform to see my train pulling away, as I have too many times before. I was told the next train left in half an hour, but luckily decided to check my full journey online. Which was a good job, because if I’d caught that later train, I would have been stuck at Nottingham station from about 10pm until around five in the morning. Instead, I got to stay another night with my cousins, in a warm bed, after wine, cheese on toast and Bradley Cooper, because his film Limitless had been on the telly.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that things don’t always work out the way you’ve planned. But that doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 32 | 33andlostinlife

Leave a Reply

