The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 29

Well I’m almost a third of the way through this challenge, and it’s hard to believe I’m still going!

Today has been a fun day, I visited the city of Bath with my cousin and her family, doing lots of walking and getting plenty of fresh air. So once again I’m going to be writing this quickly on my iPhone before falling asleep! I haven’t done anything uni-work related, or even future related today…well, actually, that’s not true. I checked my junk mail because in amongst all the ads that come through for bigger willies and security notices from every single bank on the planet, occasionally one of my wanted emails does slip through the net.

Today I found two emails from a recruitment website for jobs in Dubai. Ever since applying for a bona fide job in Dubai a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been looking at other possible opportunities out there. Anyway, I signed up probably about a week ago, and they had sent me a questionnaire and told me many employers were interested in giving me an interview! So I answered the six questions and got my hopes up only to be told I had to subscribe to fully access the site!!

The Internet can be a very fickle place, and there are many such examples of where websites will attempt to draw you in with the premise of free stuff before asking for your credit card details.

Recently, despite saying I was giving up on men, I joined another online dating site. I’d seen an ad on Facebook, and thought, why not? Sadly, I soon found out why not.

I completed all the usual profile stuff and when that was all done, it wasn’t long before Wilbur from Accrington Stanley (names and locations have been changed to protect the identity of the not-so-innocent) was “flirting” with me. Next he sent me a message. He was quite cute, and I thought “Bingo! I finally found a dating website that works!”

No such luck. It told me that in order to reply to Wilbur, I would need to subscribe. Only a £10.99 a month, or a one-off payment of £99 blah blah bollocks bollocks.

I guess the lesson to be learned here is that if something sounds too good to be true, then it probably is. Or else you’re gonna have to pay more than you bargained for in order to have it.

I have paid a lot more than I could ever have imagined to get through Uni. As well as the tuition and maintenance costs, it has cost me much time and sanity. Before I started, I had no idea what going to Uni would do to me. Even as a mature student, I naively thought that I could work full-time throughout the full three years of my degree, and believed that writing essays would come as easy as dancing to the ‘YMCA’ at a wedding after the champagne toast and a few glasses of free wine. I managed two years of full-time work alongside full-time study, before accepting that while I’ve never spelled Y-M-C-A wrong while drunk, writing essays is a whole different ball game.

I guess one of the things life does is to make you decide what is worth the extra effort, or expense. I know Uni is going to be worth it in the end, but it’s been a rough ride, and has cost me a lot more than I had ever bargained for. But while I may not have found the best way to date someone, or to find a job abroad, I know the opportunities out there in the Internet are endless, so let’s see what tomorrow, Day 30, brings.

Leave a Reply

