The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 23

After all the negativity I’ve felt over the last few weeks, I woke up this morning actually feeling quite positive.  I also felt like I should seriously look into going abroad to work, at least for a while, and that I shouldn’t give up so easily on that option.

As a final year student, I am eligible to apply for a J-1 student work visa through www.bunac.com, in order to partake in their Work America programme.  This is the last opportunity I’ll have to do this, since US working visas are harder to find than Wally (or Waldo if you’re on the US side of the pond).  It will entitle me to work for four months over the summer in the United States.  I didn’t get the opportunity to work while I studied out there back in 2011, so maybe now is my chance.

It felt good to see things clearer.  It’s strange because yesterday was actually a sunnier day than today was, but I guess for some reason today it didn’t seem as grey as it has recently.

Right now I’m preparing for my third uni presentation which I have to do tomorrow afternoon.  Once again, it’s unmarked, yet mandatory if I want to pass the module.  I’m going to look at Kathryn Stockett’s novel, The Help, published in 2009 and adapted into a film starring Emma Stone in 2011.

I’m re-reading the novel, this time making notes on the quotes I want to use.  It’s about African-American maids during the 1960s, which was a huge time for the Civil Rights’ Movement in America, and a white woman who decides to write a book about the maids’ stories in order to try and change the way things are.  One hundred years after the Civil War and the abolition of slavery, and white women are having separate toilets built outside their houses so that they don’t have to use the same toilet as their coloured maid.

America has its first black president now, so it’s hard to imagine what it was like in the past.  But I know what it is like to be ‘othered’.  And writing about the hierarchy of the women in this story, and the differences between the rich, white women and the poor, black maids, and how they treat not only those of different skin tone but those of the same colour, shouldn’t be too much of a problem.

It’s just gone 11pm now, and although I’m enjoying this reading/research, I need to go to bed.  I can feel my headache coming back, and I know that tired headache when I feel it.  Time to rest.

Leave a Reply

