The Twelve-Week Challenge: Day 20

Today has been a fairly productive day, although not as much as I would have liked.

On the future side of things, I got my application in for the US summer internship, so now all I have to do is wait with my fingers crossed.  I also started a cover letter for another internship in London.  The closing date is tomorrow so that will have to be finished tomorrow.  Yes, I know I am a last-minute person.

While I was relatively organised in applying for jobs before the closing date, somehow the realisation that tomorrow is Friday has crept up on me (maybe because I have two, five-minute presentations to do at uni, although how I could forget that I have no idea.  I blame my age). I basically have to outline what I’m going to do in my final project for that class.  They are unmarked, but mandatory.  Kinda like your first year of university.  All your tutors tell you that the first year doesn’t count; as long as you get at least 40%, you’re through to your second year.

I hadn’t intended to have arrived at Thursday evening without any substantial progress on my presentations.  But considering I arrived back from dinner with friends at around 8pm and suddenly realised I didn’t even know what film I was going to use for one of my projects, that was a slight problem.

All you have to do, I told myself, was go through your DVD collection.  Pick something that you know like the back of your hand, and apply all that American Studies stuff you’ve learnt over the last three, no four years, and Bob’s your uncle.  Sounds easy, but I struggled to even pick a film, let alone apply any academic theory to it.

I even watched Steve Martin’s 1989 film, Parenthood, thinking I would do something about fatherhood in the 20th century.  I watched the whole film, and in the end decided that I would go with Bridesmaids instead.  I’ll write about the role of the 21st century woman, or something like that.

My other presentation/project will be on Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series of books.  As you’ll know if you’ve read some recent blogs, I’ve been working my way through the first couple in the series.  I’m going to look at Stephanie and her love/hate relationship with copy Joe Morelli.  There’s a big battle of the sexes going on there which should give me plenty to write about.

Anyway, I just noticed the time and think I should get myself to bed soon, and set my alarm for earlyish in the morning.  I’m not like other students, I can’t pull “all-nighters”.  I need my sleep, and would rather get up early and stare the deadline right in the face to get what I need to done.

Day 20.  Roll on the end of this challenge.

Leave a Reply

