The Twelve-Day Challenge: Day 13

Maybe one of my problems is that I’ve always been ready to down tools and relax.  To treat myself to something, because I deserve it.  To take some time out, because I have worked so hard.  But really, have I?  I don’t believe I have worked as hard as some people.  In fact, I know I haven’t.  I’m always ready to give myself a break, even though I probably don’t deserve one.

I’m not trying to downplay what I have done, or what I’ve gone through.  It has been tough, very tough at times, as you’ll know if you’ve been following this blog at least a while.  But I think what I realise is, that I dread to think what would have happened had I really been working so hard and putting myself under even more pressure.

I have come close to burning out on more than one occasion in the last few years, so it’s nice to have weekends away like I’ve come on tonight, to just chill out, relax, enjoy some time with friends away from home.  I’ve just spent a couple of hours soaking in the hot tub in the garden, which was delightful considering it’s like 1 degree Celsius out there.  But I needed it.  And I know I will sleep tonight; not just because my cat, The Bish, isn’t there to wake me up, but because I can relax and not worry about having to get up for anything.

Anyway, as you can gather, I have done no university work or job application work at all today.  I haven’t failed in this challenge, because the challenge was to report my progress or not, each day.  I may be slightly late but get to know me and you’ll know that’s nothing unusual (and I did have a good excuse).  So I may not have done anything productive, but I did something just as equally important.  I made time for myself.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Twelve-Week Blog: Days 14, 15 and 16 | 33andlostinlife

Leave a Reply

