Monsters

Hard to believe it’s been almost a year since I made that fateful trip across the pond.  If you weren’t reading my blog or you didn’t know me back then, you can read all about it here http://wp.me/p2ayN0-a.  Basically it took a lot of money, miles and self-doubt to make me realise that I didn’t want to give up on my dreams, no matter how hard it gets.

I still regret that I didn’t stay to hear Mission Hill play.  I fell in love with their music within five seconds of hearing the first song I played, Backstabber.  I don’t know whether it’s Adam Jensen’s vocals or his meaningful lyrics, but he’s passionate about what he does, and as someone who is trying to find what I am passionate about, it’s inspiring.

I just listened to Adam’s latest solo work, “Monsters” from the upcoming release “Head on a String”.  It’s about the monsters you hear in your head and the realisation is, what do you do when the monsters…are you?

It’s taken me a long time to realise that the monster is inside me, and only I can cast it out.  Depression is like a cloud that is always there; on bad days, like those days back in February last year, it goes black and rains so hard you don’t think it is ever going to stop.  Often it just hovers overhead, threatening to rain on your parade and ruin everything you’ve ever worked for.  Even on the sunny days, when the sky is blue and the sun is shining, you know he’s there…somewhere.

But slowly, surely, I’m coming to know that I can beat the monster.  It’s people like Adam who inspire those of us who are still trying to find their love, and I’m not talking about dating.  I’m talking about the one thing that is part of you, part of your soul.  That one thing you do that will inspire people of generations to come.

Take a listen to Monsters.  And make sure you get the EP when it’s released on 29th January.

http://youtu.be/PscS70q2-HM

 

Leave a Reply

