Back to the Future

Happy new year everyone.  I do realise that we’re already halfway through January and this is my first blog post of 2013.  People have been asking me when I’m going to write a blog, and I keep telling them, when I’m ready.  Well, I guess I’m ready now.

After two months of waiting, I just received an email from the Fulbright Commission telling me that they regret to inform me that I have not been shortlisted for an interview.  As you’ll know if you’ve been following this blog, a Fulbright Scholarship would have given me the opportunity to do further study in the United States, something which, due to the high costs involved, I am unable to fund myself.  I am disappointed, although I had a feeling this is the answer I would be getting.  I even thought to myself this afternoon, I hope they let the unsuccessful people know, so that they know and don’t have to wait and wait and eventually make their own conclusions.  But I didn’t think ‘they’; I thought ‘me’.  Which is not being negative, just realistic.  

Anyway, I’m not going to make my first blog post of the year sucky and depressing.  New years should be a time for positivity.  A time to believe in yourself; you have the chance to make this new year work for you, and that’s what I’m determined to do. 

So I’ll look at my other options, of which I have quite a few.  I could look at doing a Master’s degree here in the UK, or even another country.  I could look at getting a job within the field I want.  I could explore the possibility of getting a summer internship, either in the States, through BUNAC, or here in the UK.  I could plan to go travelling after I finish my degree.  Which is most definitely looming.  Anyway, the world is my oyster, and the future is bright, is what I have to say.  And as Doc Brown said in Back to the Future Part III, “Your future hasn’t been written yet.  No-one’s has. Your future is whatever you make it.  So make it a good one.” 

Leave a Reply

