You’ve Got (To Deliver) Mail

Today I became the most expensive postal delivery person, when I hand-delivered my Fulbright Scholarship application to their office in Battersea. In fact, Postman Pat gets paid more than me, since I did in fact pay the train fare to deliver it myself.

You may be asking yourself why I just didn’t get it done earlier and avoid the costly process of travelling to London. I wish I could be that organised; unfortunately I am doomed (due to genetics) to be a last minute person. And on more than one occasion it has cost me where it hurts most – my bank balance. Anyway, I got it in in time, so that is half the battle. If I don’t get a scholarship, then at least I’ve proven to myself that I can write a good Personal Statement. I was hit by the divine inspiration I needed at 5am this morning upon receiving an email from my Professor, Judy Katz, at Juniata College where I studied in 2011, to say that she had submitted the reference. As I put in the reply to her, I couldn’t imagine submitting my application without a reference from her. She is the one who I will forever be indebted to for my love of Women’s Studies, which may have started in Lincoln but was definitely sealed into my heart during her Women & Literature class. There i learnt how to look at how women’s issues are reflected in classic and contemporary literature and how these applied to my own life, as well as writing autobiographical journals, which is really where this blog has its origins.

I’m on the train home now, and it’s overcast, although I see the sun and some blue sky trying to break through. I like the sun but today I’m working on 4 hour’s sleep, so I don’t mind the grey. I just need to stay awake long enough not to miss my stop.

I feel pleased to have my application in, not only because at least I have done what I can to make this dream happen now and my fate is with the Gods, but because now I see a clear path to the other uni assignments which are due, starting at the end of this month and finishing mid-December. After that I shall breathe a sigh of relief – before the next round of Life starts in the new year.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rob Edward
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 15:36:37

    Glad you got it in in time! I’m a last minute person, also. I have a severe procrastination problem. In fact, I’m doing it right now.

    I’m happy to see that you are moving forward. Wish I could say the same about me right now. :/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

