A Nice, Positive Blog (For Once)

After the last few strugglesome blogs, I really do have some excellent news that I need to share with you guys, before you all decide there is no chance of me ever being happy/calm/unstressed.

I recently gave a presentation for my American Dreams, American Nightmares class.  Now this is a module (course for you Americans) which combines US history with its literature of the time; a cocktail of my worst and best (respectively) subjects.  We were all offered the opportunity to do a presentation the first week of seminars, which was the second week of term.  Having left my presentation til later in the semester last year, I decided to get it done and out the way early.  When I realised that the first presentation choice was Uncle Tom’s Cabin, by Harriet Beecher Stowe, the only piece of literature by a woman on the reading list, I decided to go for it.

Preparing the presentation went ok, and on the day, despite being the first person of the module to give a presentation, I felt it went well.  My lecturer gave me a little feedback at the end of the class and promised that he would email me the feedback form.  After a few days, I received it.  I practically screamed when I read the mark: 73%.  For those of you who do not know the UK grade system, 73% is equivalent to a first class honours, and is the highest mark I have received throughout my degree.  Previously I’d never got higher than 68%, or a 2:1.

To have received 73% on a presentation, partially based on a historical era, is overwhelming.  Not only that, but it confirms for me that I did the right thing suspending my studies.  I may have a tough time putting my finger on the exact time during my nine months out (no, before you ask, I did not secretly have a baby) that things changed for me, but I have come back stronger, and much further along than I was in December last year, when I had five pieces of work due (some overdue) yet nothing had been submitted.

There is an accompanying paper for this module, which is mostly written, and will be completed after a meeting with my lecturer tomorrow.  The paper is not due until 30th November, but in a bid to be more organised and handing work in on time (and let’s face it, just having work handed in would be an improvement) I wanted it ready early.  There’s always the chance I’ll be making some last-minute changes on 30th November, but the bulk of it is done, which leaves me free to work on other pieces of work, such as my 10,000 word dissertation, or one of the other four assignments due this side of Christmas.

Anyway, I just wanted to share this with you all, just so you know I’m doing ok.  Both academically, and emotionally.  My life coach, Jon, who I blogged about in My Hero http://wp.me/p2ayN0-5u, has just checked in on me having read my previous post, and as I reassured him, I now reassure you that I am ok.  Today has been a difficult day but I know by the time I wake up in the morning I’ll be ready to face the world again and to start on this week’s classes, having already gained my highest mark yet; a step closer to actually graduating this time around.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Delfin Joaquin Paris III
    Oct 23, 2012 @ 03:30:49

    Congratulations!!! I’m proud of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

