My Hero

I just returned from the National Achievers’ Congress 2012, held in the Excel Centre in London’s Docklands.  My life coach, Jon Richelieu-Booth, was able to get me a free ticket, and as well as giving me the opportunity to see some fabulous speakers, including famous American motivational speaker, Tony Robbins, Lord Sebastian Coe and Donald Trump, it also gave me the opportunity to meet Jon in person for only the second time since we met last November, and to spend some time with this man who has been my personal motivator over the last eleven months.

Jon has been a fan of Tony Robbins for a few years now, having attended one of his Unleash the Power Within (UPW) seminars in the United States.  Since then he’s crewed with Tony Robbins at several UPW events across the US and in London.  Tony inspired him to become a life coach and I’m so glad he did.  As you’ll know if you’ve read this blog before, it’s been hard for me over the last year, suspending my studies and finding the ability to continue on the path that I started out on a few years ago, that of finding out what I want to do with my life and where I want to do it.  During that time, I saw a Personal Wellbeing Practitioner (PWP), the first step of Cognitive Behavioural Therapy.  After 7 sessions, I was patted on the head and told to run along because I was all better now.  I wasn’t referred on for “proper” CBT, even though I had told her that I still felt like I needed support.  But I realised that while my time with the PWP was mostly spent looking at my reactions towards events that had occurred, and usually resulted with what I felt was a “telling off”, I didn’t actually feel like I had made any progress.  I spent the half an hour assessment session of pouring out my heart about what had brought me to seek this help, and after that I was blatantly told that we wouldn’t be looking at the past at all, at what I perceived to have brought me to this point.

During the time I saw the PWP, I  had weekly coaching calls with Jon.  I would tell him about the same events that had happened, but instead of being told I could have acted in a “better” way, he reassured me about what a great person I was and not to beat myself up about what had happened.  Every coaching call was motivational and positive,  and I wasn’t being reprimanded for how I had reacted to a situation, which was usually in response to some longstanding issues I’ve had with bullying at school (even I can see that).  I’m lucky that Jon and I are of a similar age, we’ve been through similar difficulties in life recently and that I have someone I can not only call my life coach, but a good friend too.

In the middle of August, I had my first assessment with a counsellor at my university.  I had been referred by the university’s DART Team, who were supporting my depression by providing, after an assessment of my needs, various equipment to help me through my final year.  It was a really bad day for me when I first saw my counsellor, and what came out of the session, most of which I spent in tears, was whether I truly wanted to return for my final year of university.  She listened with compassion to the same story I told the PWP in that rushed half-hour assessment, the same story I have told many counsellors in the past.  At the end, she told me that she would support me throughout my final year, that the DART Team would be there to support me; that I just had to make the decision to go ahead and commit to finishing my undergraduate degree.

I returned the following week, and my counsellor could not believe the change in me.  Instead of having a tear-streamed face, I was smiling, I was positive, I was ready to kick-ass.  Over the next three weeks of sessions, she asked me if I was ready to move to shorter, less regular follow-up sessions, because she believed I was already through the therapeutic process and did not require the remaining hour-long sessions.

I have been lucky to have had lots of support from family and friends through this time too, and I have to say that of course I couldn’t have done it without them.  But Jon has been there for me when I’ve needed him, and he’s provided better results for me than the pre-CBT I was determined would change my life.  He goes all out to help me out, and I know that when I am a successful writer – hang on, reframe that as Jon would tell me, when I am a financially successful writer (I already am a successful writer by writing this blog) – I will still have my regular coaching calls with Jon, who I know will also have achieved his dreams.

So I just want to say a great big thank you to Jon, for being my life coach, for taking me to the National Achievers’ Congress 2012, for which not only did I get to hear some fabulous speakers, but I also met some inspirational people, some in the writing world of which I so desperately want to be a part, which I would never have met if I hadn’t had this opportunity.  Thank you, Jon, with all my heart.  I hope you find this blog to be, in your words, “handled and done”. ❤

*If you want my life coach to be your life coach, wherever you are in the world, contact Jon on +44 (0)7740 351231 or jonrichelieu-booth@phoenix-evolution.com.  It will be worth it, I promise.

Me & Jon in the pub after the National Achievers’ Congress 2012…did I mention he’s Superman?!!!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Masood
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 15:24:10

    Beautiful, I know Jon, he and I met at UPW in London, he is a beautiful, loving and awesome dude! Jon hope you’re well mate, Rgds masood

    Reply

  2. jackie
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 15:07:19

    Very good Jodie. Explains a lot. I had a similar experience with Lincolnshire Health authority. Don’t think they have a clue!! I too think it your best blog yet , your writing seems to have loosed up & become more fluid. Maybe some of those chains have dropped away xx

    Reply

  3. 1337.allegro@gmail.com
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 19:56:27

    Certainly Jon deserve that messages!
    Well written!

    Best, Daniel

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Mirena and the Hymen | 33andlostinlife
  5. Trackback: #PhoenixNation Blog: My Hero (15/7/2014) | PHOENIX EVOLUTION
  6. Trackback: #PhoenixNation Blog: Lessons Learnt through Coaching (16/7/2014) | PHOENIX EVOLUTION

Leave a Reply

