Yes, I’ve been busy but…

…that’s going to sound like an excuse, which it is, although I’m hoping that I may finally be on the right track.  After all my will I/won’t I get a job, I started a temp job this Monday.  I have to say it’s tiring, not having worked at all since September last year, and on top of that, I am so broke I don’t even have enough money to get the bus, so I’ve been walking the 6 mile round trip.  As if that wasn’t enough, the office is so hot that I spend all afternoon feeling nauseous. 

But you know what, aside from the tiredness, aching back, legs and eyes, I’m actually feeling pretty damn good.  I actually have motivation now, and let’s face it, anyone who can walk 3 miles in the morning and after work is not too short of motivation. The exact thing I’ve been lacking for the last couple of months, in fact, make that years, is suddenly coming at me in leaps and bounds.  Most people think I’m crazy when I tell them how far I’ve walked.  But aside from needing motivation, I need exercise too, and due to overeating chocolate (I’m definitely a comfort eater) I need to get rid of the belly I’ve acquired before the bikini season starts. 

The best thing, though, is that yesterday on my walk home, it came to me.  You see, I’ve been asked to write another fairy tale for The Reading Room Live to take place on Saturday 12th May 2012.  For those of you who don’t know, when I was studying at Juniata College, Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, as part of my American Studies degree, I wrote a short story.  It was for a class I was taking, called Unlock Your Voice, which would culminate in an evening coffeehouse celebration of women’s writing.  Out of 17 students, I was the only one to write an original piece and I was thrilled when my Professor asked me to close the programme with it.  She suggested to me that I should write a book of fairy tales, so far though, I’ve written one since then, with a couple of ideas that are just that, ideas.

So I knew I had to write something for The Reading Room Live, which is a live broadcast of Siren FM’s monthly literary show.  Headlining the show is Red Dwarfstar, Robert Llewellyn, who will be speaking about his new book.  So, for me, no pressure or anything…

Anyway, as I was saying, I was about halfway home yesterday when I suddenly knew what my next fairy tale would be about.  In my mind I could see it flowing as the first one had.  Today during my lunch hour I got the first page or so written and tomorrow I’ll work on it again.

I’m kind of feeling like I’ve missed the boat a bit on fairy tales, with so many representations of them appearing in the world of television and film lately.  But I hope mine may be of interest to people too. 

I’m keeping it close to my chest, so if you want to hear it, you’ll have to get a ticket for The Reading Room Live, being held at the LPAC (Lincoln Performing Arts Centre) in Lincoln, UK on Saturday 12th May at 7:30pm (tickets £5). 

So what is it that’s got my motivation going after all this time?  Maybe it’s because, after 14 years, I’m once again a data entry clerk earning not much more than minimum wage, just like I did in 1998 after I returned from living in London.  I’m doing it not because that’s all I’m capable of, just that I need the money (obviously…).  But I guess it feels like a vicious circle, one that I’m determined to get out of.  I want to write for a living.  The only way to achieve that, is to be able to write. 

I’d best get to bed, since it’ll soon be the witching hour and some of us (including me, yay) have jobs to go to in the morning.  And the rest of a short story to write at lunch.

   

  

Leave a Reply

