The Power of Positive Thinking

After my pleasantly surprisingly enjoyable V-Day yesterday, I’ve actually had a pretty good post-V-Day too.  How is it that sometimes you just know, as Doc Brown from Back To The Future would say, that “if you put your mind to it, you can accomplish anything”?

After having day after day recently of having no motivation to do anything for the last few months, sometimes not even to get myself dressed (yes, I know, the odd PJ day is great but every day? hmmm), it feels great when I think about everything I’ve achieved today.  But before you ask, yes, it did include getting myself dressed…

So what have I been up to?  I applied for another job.  I sent an email to one of my favourite authors, asking her if she wanted to come on The American Dream Team, the radio show I co-host on Siren FM (www.sirenonline.co.uk), along with the address of my blog and a copy of my most famous short story!  Although she’s unable to give an interview with us, I am being sent a few copies of her latest book to review on the show.  Hopefully when she has a few spare moments she might read my story and/or my blog.   And I got some advice from her publicist, on how to get a job (albeit not so easily these days), in the publishing industry. 

I have confirmed guests for the show on the 28th February, writer/producer Harrison Smith and director Joe Raffa will be chatting to us about their upcoming movie, Six Degrees of Hell, starring none other than one of my favourite actors, the lovely Corey Feldman.  Just in case you’ve just gone ‘who?’, be glad I’m not there to roll my eyes at you.  If you’ve seen any of the 80s classic movies, The Goonies, Stand By Me, The Lost Boys or Gremlins, then you’ll recognise Corey Feldman.  During the 80s and 90s, he was one half of The Two Coreys with fellow child actor, the late Corey Haim.  Six Degrees of Hell was filmed at a the Hotel of Horror in Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, the state where I lived in the US last year. I haven’t watched a horror film for a long time, mainly because it’s not good to watch scary stuff if you have to sleep alone.  Sunday mornings are good times to watch psychological thrillers/horrors, when the sunshine is streaming through the windows and there’s no shadow of darkness to play havoc with your mind.  But, I’m looking forward to seeing this one.

Also today, I had a session of life coaching.  Yes, I’m seeing a life coach (professionally, before any of you get excited and rush out to buy a hat).  He’s a great guy I met on one of my US trips, someone who’s had a difficult time too but has found his path now and is well on the way to following his dreams.  Now he’s inspiring me and many others to do the same.  The fact that he’ll shortly be in New York, doing ‘life coaching stuff’, means that I can interview him for the show too, another great example of watching people following their dreams. 

Oh, and I posted a comment on the US Embassy’s Facebook page telling everyone on there about The American Dream Team, which the Embassy replied “Hi Jodie, Thanks for letting us know.  Sounds like a great show!”

It warmed the cockles, as they say. 

So all-in-all, a positive day, lots of great things happening for the show in the future, and for me.  Yes, I know it won’t pay the bills.  But if it’s giving me motivation to do things, anything, and putting a smile on my face, then I don’t regret a second of it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tehkelsey
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 19:02:35

    Hey it might not pay the bills right now, but you never know what the future has in store! Also, I think it’s great that you had a the guts to contact one of your favourite authors. I would be too afraid that they’d say yes!

    In the way of the publishing industry… trade publishing seems to be an impenetrable fortress surrounded by hoards of unpaid interns. I’d try looking into academic publishing as an in. Also, If you have a specific job in mind, let me know, and I can pass along any openings I find (I’m always on publishers’ websites doing research anyway).

    Reply

  2. 33andlostinlife
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 19:52:37

    That’s what being in your 30s does for you – it makes you less afraid to approach people and ask for things (see my blog How Will I Know…). What’s the worst they can say??!!

    I’ll bear that in mind about academic publishing. With respect to which job I’d like to do, editorial is my preferred option, followed by rights or production, although I’d probably consider anything if it was a way to get in (with the exception of sales…). Thank you for keeping an eye out for me 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

