It’s The New Look Me!

Today I discovered something new.  I discovered how to use my blog.  Being new to blogging, I really didn’t have much of an idea of how to set it up, so I had picked a theme with a picture I liked, and started typing. 

Only tonight, after receiving a comment on today’s earlier blog, did I realise that I’d actually received 21 comments, not just the four that I had seen.  Of course, 21 of them were spam, which ‘akismit’, my iBouncer, has taken aside and kept out of the way for me, so I can decide if they really are spam, or if they are actually nice people who’ve been blocked for some other reason.  Most of themwerespam, so I deleted them permanently, but two were genuine comments.  One was from Sophia,who said, “Great post! It always amazes me how people can take time to write them. But to be honest maybe you should change the color of the texts? Sorry if I am being rude, just trying to help. Kind regards, Sophia.” 

Naturally, I was thrilled to hear that she enjoyed reading the post.  And I accepted my first piece of constructive criticism with dignity.  I’m a writer; not a designer.  This is why I opted for a theme rather than designing one of my own.  The one I had picked was plain white, with a header that showed a picture of a car in a tunnel, with its headlights on.  I liked the picture because I related to it; I am in the path of oncoming headlights, and there’s no light at the end of the tunnel…

After reading Sophia’s comment, I examined my page more closely.  The white was very clinical, boring really.  I experimented with choosing a background colour, but this only displayed colour around the edges, not behind the text.  So I went back to the drawing board, and picked another theme.  This time, Koi, a pretty, peachy colour background with sprawly patterns at the top and bottom.  It reminded me of Chinese food, which is always a good thing.  I like it.  For now.  At least it adds colour to my page. 

But having a blog, so I discovered, which is basically your very own website, is actually quite exciting.  You can add Follow buttons, and Twitter feeds and all sorts of things to make it seem more like a real website, like the ones we know and love.

Ideally I want to have an original blog design, but that will have to wait.  For now I need to concentrate on the content.  For me, that’s the most important thing.  However, if Sophia, or any of my other 227 followers (yes! I have followers! Whoop!) want to make any more suggestions, please do.  I want to look like a local.  As though I’ve lived in Blogland all my life.  Not like a tourist, wandering round aimlessly with a map and a camera.  In fact, that’s what I want to achieve with this blog; some direction in life and a settled feeling.  Oh, and the ability not to look like a lost tourist.

 

Leave a Reply

