Happy (and I mean it) Valentines Day!

From last night’s post you’ll know I normally hate Valentine’s Day.  Last year was particularly nightmare-esque, but the less said about that right now, the better. 

But today I woke up (that’s always a good start), and to my pleasant surprise, I didn’t hate it so much.  If at all. 

Maybe I was inspired by the number of men I saw carrying flowers in town yesterday.  It seemed like everyone, even the security guard at my university, had gone out at lunchtime to buy their other half a beautiful bunch of red petals.  My heart did pang a little, knowing that nobody would be buying me flowers, or chocolates, or even a card.  But I’m ok with that this year. 

I haven’t sent a Valentine’s card either this year.  In fact, I’ve only ever sent cards to two people my entire life.  And received cards from one.  Actually, that’s a lie.  I kind of had a boyfriend when I was nine. He sent me a little hand-made card with heart shaped stickers on.  I treated him terribly.  For which I feel absolutely awful now, and I hope he knows how sorry I am for doing so. 

I was talking to my dad last night and he told me I can’t continue to live in the past.  He’s right, of course.  The past has weighed me down for more years than I can remember.  But now it’s time to look to the future.

I don’t mind being alone this Valentine’s Day.  Because I’m not, really.  I have lots of family and friends who love me, and whom I love right back.  I have a cat, Harry (aka The Bish), who I love more than anything and will always be my baby.  He gets a little exasperated with me sometimes, but I know he loves me too.  But the future is full of Valentine’s Days.  There is always hope that next year will be THE year. 

Tonight I have a date!  With The American Dream Team.  We’ll be on the air from 5pm GMT.  If you live in Lincoln, you can catch us on Siren FM 107.3.  Wherever else in the world you are, listen live at www.sirenonline.co.uk.  We’re there for you, and we love all our listeners.

To all those, like my friend, Nicky Thompson, celebrating their birthday today.  Have a fabulous day.  Feel the love. ❤

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Roses are red… « 33andlostinlife

Leave a Reply

