Why am I writing this blog?

Welcome to my blog.  I’m writing this because I need to practice my writing and because I think if I can spew my life up onto virtual paper then maybe it will help to get me out of this deep blue funk I find myself in.

Now this is no short-term mood swing.  This is something I’ve been struggling with for over five years now.  You’d think I would be well over it by now.  But life’s a bitch.  I’m tempted to give her a slap but she tends to keep well away from me (sensible really.  There’s a lot of pent-up frustration in here).

I saw a shrink while I was living in the States last year.  She told me that my 30-something crisis should be over by the time I reach 34.  So I have at least another six months.  I’m not sure how I’m going to cope with that.  People keep telling me that life will get better but they’ve been telling me that since I’ve been in my teens.

….ok I’m back, after disappearing for 20 minutes.  Not that you would notice, but I do have a concentration problem.  Also I appear to have a problem with finishing things.  So I’m going to post this, before I lose my nerve, or what little motivation I do have.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 20:47:52

    Jodie. You are a dear, sensitive, resilient soul who won’t stop searching for peace and beauty until you find it. Thank you for sharing your heart here. It’s worth sharing, you know. There’s a verse I really love that says something like, “don’t despise the day of small beginnings.” Basically, we can only ever start RIGHT HERE. Where we are. So start here–with your writing and your thoughts and your concentration–and then it will lead to better things. But for right now, just one foot in front of the other is all you have to do. Trust that your steps will take you to where you need to go.

    All the best to you! Excited to know where your writing spot is now:)

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Happy Birthday to 33andlostinlife! « 33andlostinlife

Leave a Reply

