Daily Prompt: All About Me

Daily Prompt: All About Me.

Those nice people at WordPress.com really do love their bloggers.  As well as giving us a great website to enable us to tell the world what we feel and think, they give us ideas of what to write when they think we might need it.  I’ve never done the Daily Prompt before, but today’s topic is ‘All About Me’ and the mission, should I choose to accept it, is: Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.  Of course, this is a blog all about me, so, why wouldn’t I?

My blog is titled 33andlostinlife.  Which is pretty much what it says on the tin.  I’ve been a victim of what I call “The Thirty-Something Crisis”; it hit me around the age of 27, and basically questioned my whole life.  Was I happy?  What did I want to do with my life?  Where did I want to be?  The answers were, of course, not readily available but on the run up to my 30th birthday I eventually started realising that most of the answers were negative responses.

I started at the University of Lincoln at the age of 31, a Bachelor’s Degree in American Studies.  I was lucky enough to go and study abroad in the US in my second year, which is where I learned that I enjoyed writing.  I don’t know where my thoughts went before that point; just around and around in my head I guess.  When I returned to the UK, something in me had changed, I no longer wanted the life I had, I wanted to move forward.  So I handed in my notice at work with the intention of finishing my final year at uni and getting the hell out of here.

But things didn’t quite work out that way.  In December 2011, I suspended my studies.  I had no uni work, no job and no idea what I was doing in my life.  I literally was 33 years old and lost in life.  At the end of January 2012 I started writing this blog.  And the rest is history.

I guess the aim of this blog is to give me a venting place, somewhere to tell the world how I’m feeling.  A lot of my friends have asked me how I can write about such personal things in such an open way.  I have found in the past that keeping things hidden inside is a recipe for disaster and destruction.  So I will continue to write about depression, relationships, sex and anything else that takes my fancy.  With the occasional Back to the Future reference thrown in for good measure.  Recently I’ve had a lot of new readers and followers, which is great, because it just makes me want to write more.  So although I may not be 33 anymore (in fact next birthday I will be 35) and I’m perhaps not quite as lost in life now, I still need to charter my journey, so that others may feel the courage to follow in my footsteps.